Daria Blagova
Author
Samvel Gevorgyan
Translation

Plastic packaging can cause serious illnesses. Which ones?

We talk a lot about the damage plastic bags, bottles, and cups do to the environment. At the same time, almost every day there is new data on the ways disposable packaging affects the human body. In this article, we are telling you what you need to urgently give up on in order to preserve your health.
As we know, when plastic gets into the environment, it breaks down into particles, which sooner or later through a variety of ways appear in our stomachs and begin to poison our body. But many people still think it's a small thing, that is unworthy of their attention, for them the journey of plastic from the dump to our dining table looks too long.

It's time to get rid of skepticism: sometimes packaging starts to poison the body instantly. The fact is that in some cases, upon contact with food, it begins to "pass" its toxic substances. Especially, it happens when the food is heated — so it becomes more susceptible to infection.

Disease: cancer
Where it hides: in containers for take-out food (Yes, even in paper ones!)

Polystyrene, which is part of almost every disposable container, is considered a powerful carcinogen. Such civilized cities as New York, Washington, and San Francisco have already banned the use of coffee cups, plates and boxes made of this material.
Disease: infertility (as well as liver and kidney disease)
Where it hides: in containers for takeaway food

A study published last year showed that almost two-thirds of paper containers for takeaway food in the US contain a large amount of fluoride — which means that perfluorooctanesulfonic acid was used in the production of the packaging. In the laboratory, it has been proven that this substance causes infertility, malformations in the fetus, as well as liver, kidney and immune problems. The environmental agency even links the use of such packaging with a decrease in the birth rate.

Disease: hormonal disorders, thyroid diseases, infertility
Where it hides: in aluminum cans

A variety of products is sold in aluminum containers, from beer to baby food. Often, cans out of this metal are covered with bisphenol — an additive that, according to many studies, destroys the endocrine system. Many American companies have stopped using bisphenol in baby food packaging, but it is still found in all other products. It is not known whether this substance is being banned in Armenia. It is worth mentioning that endocrine diseases are often associated with breast and prostate cancer, infertility and metabolic disorders.
Disease: childhood obesity, cardiovascular disease, and child hormonal disorders
Where it hides: in type 3 plastics (most often used for technical purposes due to its danger, but sometimes you can see it on the shelves of grocery stores), as well as in cling film.

The plastic of this type is made of polyvinyl chloride, which can emit phthalates. They destroy hormones, promote childhood obesity and cardiovascular diseases, as well as interfere with the development of male genital organs. Especially dangerous can be the cling film, in which vegetables are wrapped — with such close contact, it easily passes its toxins to food.

Disease: kidney failure, and also bad mood
Where it hides: in type 6 plastic (cups for yogurt, meat trays, boxes for vegetables and fruits, and heat-insulating boards are made of it).

When heated, it releases styrene, which can cause depression and fatigue. In high doses, it can also affect kidney function and cause cancer.
Disease: kidney failure, and also bad mood
Where it hides: in type 6 plastic (cups for yogurt, meat trays, boxes for vegetables and fruits, and heat-insulating boards are made of it).

When heated, it releases styrene, which can cause depression and fatigue. In high doses, it can also affect kidney function and cause cancer.
Disease: hormonal failures, problems with metabolism
Where it hides: in the type 7 plastic (it is used to make high-capacity water bottles)

It may contain BPA (or bisphenol A), which adversely affects the endocrine system, that in fact may lead to metabolic disorders. Sometimes it is also associated with cancer and infertility.
What else is worth giving up on

Plastic impurities are also contained in disposable coffee cups and when heated emit a lot of harmful substances. The same is with frozen food, which is usually heated directly in a plastic tray in the microwave. In General, it is better not to heat anything in plastic — switch to durable glass and ceramics.
Source: Guardian

7 июня 2019 | Автор: Дарья Благова
Бесплодие, рак, ожирение. Какие заболевания вызывает одноразовая упаковка
Мы много говорим о вреде для окружающей среды пакетов, бутылок и стаканчиков. В то же время чуть ли не каждый день в мире появляются новые данные о том, как одноразовая упаковка влияет на человеческий организм. Рассказываем, от чего надо срочно отказаться, чтобы сохранить свое здоровье.
Как мы знаем, пластик, попадая в окружающую среду, распадается на частицы, которые рано или поздно оказываются у нас в желудках и начинают отравлять организм. Но многим людям все еще кажется, что это мелочь, не достойная их внимания: путешествие пластика со свалки на наш обеденный стол выглядит слишком долгим.

Пора избавиться от скептицизма: иногда упаковка начинает отравлять организм мгновенно. Дело в том, что в ряде случаев при контакте с едой она начинает «отдавать» ей токсичные вещества. Особенно часто это происходит, когда пища нагрета — так она становится более восприимчивой к заражению.

Заболевание: рак
Где прячется: в контейнерах для еды на вынос (да-да, даже в бумажных!)

Полистирол (или пенополистиролом), который входит в состав почти каждого одноразового контейнера, считается мощным канцерогеном. В таких цивилизованных городах, как Нью-Йорк, Вашингтон и Сан-Франциско уже запретили использование кофейных чашек, тарелок и коробок из этого материала.
Заболевание: бесплодие (а также болезни печени и почек)
Где прячется: в контейнерах для еды на вынос

Прошлогоднее исследование показало, что почти две трети бумажных контейнеров для еды на вынос в США содержит большое количество фтора — это значит, что при производстве упаковки использовалась перфтороктансульфоновая кислота. В лабораторных условиях было доказано, что это вещество вызывает бесплодие, пороки развития у плода, а также заболевания печени, почек и проблемы с иммунитетом. Агентство окружающей среды даже связывает использование такой упаковки со снижением уровня рождаемости.

Заболевание: гормональные нарушения, болезни щитовидной железы, бесплодие
Где прячется: в алюминиевых банках

В алюминиевых емкостях продают множество продуктов: от пива до детского питания. Часто банки из этого металла покрывают бисфенолом — добавкой, которая, согласно многим исследованием, разрушает эндокринную систему. Многие американские компании прекратили использовать бисфенол в упаковке для детского питания, но он все еще встречается во всех остальных продуктах. Отказываются ли от этого вещества в Армении — достоверно неизвестно. Напомним, что эндокринные заболевания часто связывают с раком молочной железы и простаты, бесплодием и нарушением обмена веществ.
Заболевание: детское ожирение, сердечно-сосудистые заболевания и гормональные нарушения у детей
Где прячется: в пластике 3-го типа (чаще всего используется в технических целях ввиду своей опасности, но иногда можно увидеть его и на полках продуктовых магазинов), а также в пищевой пленке

Пластик этого типа изготавливается из поливинилхлорида, который может выделять фталаты. Они разрушают гормоны, способствуют детскому ожирению и сердечно-сосудистым заболеваниям, а также мешают развитию мужских половых органов. Особенно опасной может быть пищевая пленка, в которую заворачивают овощи — при таком тесном контакте она с легкостью отдает в пищу свои токсины.

Заболевание: нарушение работы почек, а также плохое настроение
Где прячется: в пластике 6-го типа (из него делают стаканчики для йогурта, мясные лотки, коробки под овощи и фрукты, сэндвич-панели и теплоизоляционные плиты)

При нагревании выделяет стирол, который может стать причиной депрессивного состояния и усталости. В высоких дозах он также может повлиять на функцию почек и вызывать рак.
Заболевание: гормональные сбои, проблемы с метаболизмом
Где прячется: в пластике 7-го типа (из него делают бутылки для воды)

Может содержать BPA (или бисфенол А), который негативно влияет на эндокринную систему, что может привести к нарушению метаболизма. Иногда его также связывают с раком и бесплодием.

От чего еще стоит отказаться

Примеси пластика также содержатся в одноразовых кофейных стаканчиках и при нагревании выделяют множество вредных веществ. То же самое — с замороженной едой, которую обычно разогревают прямо в пластиковом лотке в микроволновке. Вообще, лучше ничего не разогревать в пластике — переходите на долговечное стекло и керамику.

Материал основан на публикации в The Guardian.


7 июня / 2019

Автор: Дарья Благова